RSS

What are the Characteristics of a Godly wife?

26 May

So  I want to be a Godly wife, and what does a Godly wife look like?

What does she do?

What are her characteristics??

She Respects, Loves, and Honors her husband. She is Faithful to Him.

She works with eager hands, her husband is confident in her, her arms are strong, she isn’t proud, she is frugal, charitable, and is not idle.  (Proverbs 31:10-31)

Lets dive right in!

The most common piece of advice I have heard from teachers, pastors, and men in general is to respect them. Men want respect, Of course it has to be respect, something I will have to fight my whole life.

Ephesians 5:33:  …the wife must respect her husband…

Okay thats straight forward, so lets define respect correctly.

Respect:

Esteem for or a sense of the worth or excellence of a person, a personal quality or ability, or something considered as a manifestation of a personal quality or ability. To show regard or consideration for. To refrain from intruding upon or interfering with.

Wow, thats a lot to look at right there. In our culture women are independent from men, we can “do it ourselves”, are known as busybodies or interfering with our husbands/fiances/boyfriends. It doesn’t say you only have to respect him when he makes wise choices, if he is making sketchy decisions, have at ‘im lady. No matter what we have to respect them. Wow, I am going to have to work on it.

So right now I’m going to write a list of attributes my man has that I respect. :)

He is a good provider & companion, he loves me for who I am, he can fix anything, hard worker, honest, & trustworthy.

I always feel like honor is parallel to respect so lets define Honor as well.

Honor: high respect, as for worth, merit, or rank. To treat with honor.

How many times already in my relationship haven’t I treated him with respect and honored his position in my life?

This is going to be harder than I thought.



 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

